About Interreg

Interreg or European Territorial Cooperation (ETC) is one of the two goals of EU cohesion policy and provides a framework for the implementation of joint actions and policy exchanges between national, regional and local actors from different Member States. Interreg’s overarching objective is to promote a harmonious economic, social and territorial development of the Union as a whole.

Interreg programmes are funded by the European Regional Development Fund. In the fifth programming period (2014-2020), Interreg programmes cover three strands of cooperation: cross-border (Interreg A), transnational (Interreg B) – to which Interreg Baltic Sea Region belongs – and interregional (Interreg C).

The fifth programming period of Interreg (2014-2020) has a budget of EUR 10.1 billion invested in over 100 cooperation programmes. This budget also includes the ERDF allocation for Member States to participate in EU external border cooperation programmes supported by other instruments (Instrument for Pre-Accession (IPA) and European Neighbourhood Instrument (ENI)).

Evolution of Interreg

Interreg facts & figures

5 facts you might not know about Europe

@European Union 2017/ @EU_Regional

Interreg fact sheet

Interreg portal